Pork Schnitzel with Chips



SUMMER IS HERE!!!!! How is your summer? I’m enjoying my holidays (haha, not that much, I wasted the whole week sleeping and eating after a super tiring school year), but I still keep myself busy by reading books, attending to IELTS class and of course, cooking. Surfing in the Internet, checking out some recipes and reading information about some dishes’s history is truly fascinating. Today, I realized a new dish: Pork Schnitzel with Chips, but my dish is a modified version of pork schnitzel. I’ve never tasted the original version, that’s why I wish one day I could travel around the world and taste the most authentic flavor of food in their country. That would be an amazing and unforgettable experience of my life. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll publish a series of post talking about traditional dishes of each country 🙂

Get back to my Pork Schnitzel with Chips xD Just one word to describe it: DELICIOUS. I can imagine the flavor of the pork schnitzel when I started cooking but it turned out so much better than I expected. After 1 hour in the kitchen, the result was too wonderful. At first, I’m afraid that the schnitzel’s quality will reduce if it cools down, fortunately it doesn’t. The coat was crunchy and well-colored thanks to the breadcrumb mixture (breadcrumb, parsley and grated cheddar cheese) while the meat inside was tender, soft and well-seasoned. Besides, the chips were fried with unsalted butter and matched perfectly with the pork’s flavor. Totally satisfied about this dish ^^

For this time, I used ketchup to enjoy with the chips and the schnitzel, chili sauce or tartare sauce will match too. But I recommend that ketchup would be the best choice because it will balance the flavor, a little bit sour of the tomatoes will make everything tastier and avoid the boredom. Personally, I think that the tartare sauce is too much, I mean there’s butter in the chips, cheese in the schnitzel and now the mayonnaise in the sauce, maybe too much eggs and milk’s flavor, right? That’s just my opinion, everything depends on you. Curious now? Here’s the recipe:

    Ingredients:

4 potatoes, such as russet, cut into 1.5cm chips
2 eggs
1 cup olive oil
6 x 80 pork leg steaks
300g breadcrumb
1 tbs chopped flat leaf parsley
¼ cup finely grated cheddar cheese (or parmesan cheese)
½ cup plain flour
Peanut oil, for deep frying
1 tbs unsalted butter

      Method:

1. Place potatoes in a saucepan with cold water, bring to the boil over high heat, cook for 10 minutes or until just tender
2. Meanwhile, pound steaks with a meat mallet until each steak is 5mm thick. Season with salt and pepper.
3.  Place the crumbs, chopped parsley and the cheddar cheese in a bowl, mix well to combine.
4. Place flour, salt and pepper onto a plate and the  eggs, whisked into a shallow dish. Dip pork, 1 piece at a time, into the flour. Shake off excess. Dip into egg then coat with breadcrumb mixture, pressing crumbs on firmly with your fingertips.
5. Pour oil into a saucepan until one-third full. Heat over medium-high heat until 130 degrees celsius in temperature. Deep-fry chips for 3 minutes. Remove and drain. Increase heat to 180 degrees celsius, return chips to the pan, and cook for a further 7-10 minutes or until golden. Drain and keep warm.
6. Heat oil and butter in a large frying pan over medium heat. Cook pork, in 2 batches, for about 2 minutes each side or until browned and just cooked. Drain.
7. To serve, divide the chips and schnitzel between plates.

     (modified recipe of Masterchef Australia’s recipe)

Good luck ❤

Leave a Reply

