Quick tip: How to avoid onion eyes?


Onion is one of the most common ingredients in the kitchen. Chopping for sauce, thinly slicing for stir-frying or salads…, we have to face them ALL THE TIME. But it’s not easy at all. They make us cry more than ever, and that’s totally insane when you have to deal with that problem whenever you intend to make a dish! So how to avoid onion eyes? Stop using onions? Wearing goggles? Nope, I don’t think so.

I don’t know if this way works for you but I always put a bowl full of fresh water right next to my cutting board when slicing or chopping onions, or simply stand next to the sink. It helps me solve my usual problem and now I’m not afraid of onions anymore!

Besides, there’re some different solutions to deal with them: put the onions in the fridge about 20 minutes before cutting, cut them underwater, soak them in fresh water for 10 minutes, chew gum when cutting, using a super sharp knife… or even tell someone else to do that xD

What’s your own way to avoid onion eyes? Did it work? Share it with other bloggers and me in the comment section below,

Love, Trang Quynh

5 comments

  1. Karen · July 27, 2012

    I refrigerate them right before using…it seems to make it easier to peel them as well.

    • trangquynh · July 27, 2012

      I never try that way before, it seems to be a good tip, thank you Karen ^^

      • Karen · July 27, 2012

        You are welcome.

  2. petit4chocolatier · July 29, 2012

    Enjoyed this post and the presentation in carving out the letters from onions on a cutting board; very cute! I have tried many different ways in preparing onions before slicing so I wouldn’t cry; and still tear up after 2. The best way is probably to have someone else cut them!

    • trangquynh · July 29, 2012

      I totally agreed, and it works ALL THE TIME!!!

Leave a Reply

