Birthday meal: Five-spice Pan-fried Pork with Cucumber Salad and Rice


Actually this dish is made yesterday, September 27, my birthday ^^ This is the first time I’ve enjoyed my birthday in France so I just wanna do something special to celebrate it. Even I spent almost my time alone cause my 2 friends were going to their universities, but I’m always good at doing things alone, wandering around the commercial center and bought myself a new shirt (see, I treat myself really well haha) and preparing for a little party with friends.

Flavorful and marinaded pan-fried or grilled meat is my all time favorite, so this time I chose for my special meal Five-spice Pan-fried Pork with Cucumber and Rice. Juicy, tender and fragnant pork definitely made my day, of course after the lovely wishes everyone posted on my Facebook and a surprise present from one of my best friends 😀 Anw, my first day of the age 18 was absolutely awesome!

     Ingredients: 

1. 300 grams pork, washed, cut into 100-grams portions

2. 3 tbs fish sauce

3. 1 tbs granulated white sugar (can be replaced by honey)

4. 1 red shallot, finely chopped

5. 2-3 garlic cloves, finely chopped

6. 2 tsp five-spice powder (available in any Chinese or Vietnamese market)

7. 1 tbs vegetable oil

     Method:

1. In a large mixing bowl, mix together fish sauce, sugar, chopped shallot, garlic, five-spice powder and vegetable oil until combined.

2. Dip in the pork portions, flip them until they’re well covered by the marinade. Set aside for at least 30 minutes (but I always recommend up to 1 hour to create tender and super flavorful pan-fried pork)

3. Heat a large frying pan over medium high heat, put in the pork portions, following by the remaining marinade (there’s already vegetable oil in the marinade so I don’t wanna add more, plus, the marinade will continue going through your pork while pan-frying and create a juicy and mouth-watering portion). Pan-fry for 15-20 minutes, depending on your pork portions’ size, or until they’re beautifully brown both sides. Turn off the heat.

4. Serve with Cucumber Salad and Rice. For my cucumber salad, I mixed my sliced cucumber with Caesar dressing, it’s easy as pie xD

Lovely present from my friend: Tarte aux framboises and a giant Macaron ❤

Bon appetit,

Love, Trang Quynh

2 comments

  1. petit4chocolatier · September 28, 2012

    Everything looks really good. Your rice comes out so appetizing! What a nice friend to bring you those glorious sweets!

    • trangquynh · September 28, 2012

      yeah, my day was pretty awesome with that delicious dish and the literally sweet present xD

Leave a Reply

