Beef Macaroni and Cheese


Beef macaroni and cheese 1

Back to last week, I had a wonderful 1 week trip to Paris (that explains why I completely disappeared on WordPress instead of editing and publishing a dozen of new food posts on my blog, I’m really sorry about that ^^). Paris was marvelous, I really love wandering around the little gorgeous streets, admiring everything, from the big monuments such as Louvre museum, Opera House, Pont des Arts… to the very simple things like beautiful balconies, the decoration of metro stations, or the random tiny coffee shop on the street… Everyday, I spent all my time walking down the streets, sometimes, sitting in a coffee shop, enjoying the music people play and sipping a big cup of chocolate, watching everything from the little window. Paris is just simple like that, like I always talk to myself, “Paris is all about love and music. Playing music, singing and wandering around the streets, everyone will be dying to be here, even for just once”.

I can talk about the beauty Paris for hours, but I’m sure it will be more wonderful if you’re there. So, I will stop talking, you should go there and enjoy the city in your own way 🙂 

Anyway, the dish I wanna present to you today is Beef Macaroni and Cheese, a recipe courtesy of celebrity chef Paula Deen’s website. It may sound popular but personally, I think this is the best version I’ve tasted so far. It’s cheesy, rich and of course, flavorful. I hope you like the recipe and maybe (no, I wish), this dish will appear in your meal for New Year’s Eve 😉

Beef macaroni cheese 2

Ingredients (serves: 8)

1 teaspoon each dried basil, cumin, and dried oregano
Salt and pepper
3 cup canned crushed tomatoes
2 lb lean ground beef
1 tablespoon chopped garlic
2 cup chopped onion
2 cup chopped green bell pepper
2 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 lb box elbow macaroni
2-3 cup grated emmental cheese

Method: 

1.Heat the oil in a skillet; add the peppers, onion, and garlic, and saute until soft.

1

2. Add the ground beef and saute until browned.

2

3

3. Add the tomatoes, salt and pepper to taste, and the basil, cumin, and oregano.

4

4. Cook the macaroni according to package directions; drain and keep warm.

5

5. In a large bowl, combine the macaroni and the beef mixture. Spread this mixture into a 9 x 13-inch baking dish.

6

6. Top with the cheese and 2 tsp of mixed herbs (optional) and bake at 350 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes, or until the cheese is lightly browned and bubbly.

7

Beef macaroni and cheese 3

Beef macaroni and cheese 4

6 comments

  1. petit4chocolatier · January 2, 2013

    Deluxe Macaroni and cheese! Delicious 🙂

  2. Karen (Back Road Journal) · January 5, 2013

    Mac and cheese only much better. I know you must have had a wonderful time in Paris.

    • trangquynh · January 5, 2013

      yes, I did have a memorable trip to Paris, thank you Karen ^^

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Simple and Delicious Pasta Recipes to rock out this Spring | Trang Quynh
  4. Pingback: Paula Deen’s Beef Mac n Cheese | Trang Quynh

Leave a Reply

