Mushroom and Bell Pepper Stuffed Chicken Breasts


IMG_2309

When it comes to the last day of Christmas vacation, I don’t know if you guys are like me or not, I just want to stay in the kitchen all day, make as many as complicated dishes that I can because I know once all the university things start, they definitely won’t let me rest, even for one day ^^ Many ideas crossed my mind, but unfortunately, for most of them, I don’t have enough ingredients in my fridge, and what’s crazier is in Lyon, stores and markets and supermarkets close on Sunday (I know, that sounds pretty insane and impossible, but yeah, I’m still suffering that stuff and go to the supermarket on Saturday). So, finally, back to the basics, here are my Mushroom and Bell Pepper Stuffed Chicken Breasts 😉

Honestly, this is the second time I’ve made these chicken rolls (last time with the breadcrumb filling and now mushroom and bell pepper one), but I still had a hard time flattening the chicken breasts. Even I made it faster than last time but I can’t technically flatten them… right. The chicken breasts should have been thinner, but while I was flattening them, I was afraid of tearing them apart before getting the required thickness.  So if you have any advice or experience or opinion for this problem, I’d love to hear them, no, I mean, I need them 🙂

Anyway, I hope you all enjoy the recipe, even my chicken rolls are not thin as I want but they still taste absolutely amazing, so give it a try if you want and good luck !

IMG_2306

Ingredients (serves: 4-6)

3 boneless chicken breasts

1 small green bell pepper, small diced

4-5 white mushrooms, washed and cut into small pieces

1 onion, chopped

2 tomatoes, washed and diced

Salt, pepper

Vegetable oil

Method: 

1. Place each chicken breast half between 2 sheets of plastic wrap. Use a meat pounder or a heavy pan to pound. Flatten to around 1/4 inch thick. Make sure not to tear the meat. After done, remove the plastic and make the irregular side towards you. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

2. Heat a pan over medium high heat, put in 1 tbs vegetable oil, then add 1/2 of the chopped onion and bell pepper, constantly stir until cooked, about 2-3 minutes.

IMG_2295

Stir in the mushrooms, season with salt and pepper, continue stirring for about 5-6 minutes or until the mushrooms are soft. Remove from the heat. Set aside.

IMG_2296

3.  Lay the chicken breast on the cutting board or any clean flat surface. Fill it with about 3 tbs of the mushroom mixture lengthways. Using plastic wrap, roll the chicken breast lengthwise, up with the irregular end towards the good end, tuck in the ends to enclose the filling. Put the roll in the fridge for about 1 hour.

4. Heat a frying pan over medium high heat, put in 3 tbs vegetable oil and brown the rolls all sides.

IMG_2297

5. Meanwhile, heat a medium saucepan over medium high heat, put in 1 tbs vegetable oil, following by the remaining chopped onion. Stir well until the onion turns transparent, add the diced tomatoes and 4 tbs fresh water, keep stirring until soft. Season with salt and pepper.

6. Pour the tomato sauce in the frying pan, gently mix until the chicken rolls are well covered. Cook 10-15 minutes more, then turn off the heat. Slice the chicken rolls and serve with the tomato sauce.

IMG_2307

See you guys in the next post,

Love, Trang Quynh

14 comments

  1. dedy oktavianus pardede · January 17, 2013

    that’s a lovely homemade fine dining dish..
    i’m gonna try that for sure…
    thx for sharing then

    • trangquynh · January 17, 2013

      thank you so much for the compliment, I know you’re better than me in flattening chicken breasts so this recipe is definitely a must-try ! Have a nice day ^^

  2. Karen · January 17, 2013

    I love your presentation. As long as the mallet is smooth I haven’t had a problem with them tearing. I know sometimes the chicken breasts can be very large…then perhaps you could butterfly them.

    • trangquynh · January 17, 2013

      thank you Karen for the advice, next time I will try it ^^

  3. Profiteroles & Ponytails · January 17, 2013

    What an impressive looking dish…looks great for a dinner party. I like the fact that you could try so many different fillings to suit different tastes!

  4. petit4chocolatier · January 18, 2013

    I wish there was a super like button!! Looks so good 🙂

    • trangquynh · January 18, 2013

      thank you for your lovely compliment, it really makes my day !!!

  5. Stephanie · January 18, 2013

    These look delicious! Sometimes it’s easier to use a rolling pin as opposed to a meat mallet when flattening chicken breasts. Love how this recipe could be made ahead of time… we have a wood fire grill that we use during the summers, and I bet these chicken rolls would be great to cook on it!

    • trangquynh · January 18, 2013

      thank you for the advice, I will try it next time and hopefully my problem of flattening chicken breasts will be solved ^^ Btw, cooking these chicken rolls on a wood fire grill is such an amazing idea, I can imagine how good they will be 😉

  6. Karista · January 18, 2013

    Beautiful dish Trang!

  7. Pingback: Lemon Chicken Breast | Trang Quynh

Leave a Reply

