Omelette with Ham and Mushrooms


Omelette with ham and mushrooms 1This will be a super quick post, I promise ^^ When you’re in a hurry or too busy to get in the kitchen and spend about 1 hour to cook a whole meal, omelette is always the solution, right? (well, at least that’s my choice, I already came back in university so yeah, the schedule is pretty tight). So today, I wanna show you how I made my Omelette with Ham and Mushrooms, maybe it’s a little bit different from the method you read in cookbooks, but I like to do it this way, less complicated and most important, it doesn’t require too many kitchen stuff (plates, pan…). You guys may not know this, I love cooking but not a fan of washing dishes, actually I’m pretty lazy to do that, so economize as much as you can the amount of kitchen utensils if you’re like me 😉

Omelette with ham and mushrooms 2

Ingredients (serves: 4)

1/4 of an onion, finely chopped

4-5 big white mushrooms, washed and cut into small and thin pieces (as seen on the picture below)

4 large eggs

1 slice of ham (about 50 grams), cut into small square pieces

Salt, pepper

30 grams unsalted butter

Method: 

1. Heat a large frying pan over medium high heat, melt the butter. Add the onion and mushrooms, lightly season with salt and pepper, constantly stir until the mushrooms are cooked and the onion turns transparent. Using chopsticks, gently spread the mushrooms on the surface of the frying pan, this step will help your omelette to have an even thickness ^^

IMG_2314

2. In a mixing bowl or a cup (I always use a cup to comfortably beat the eggs), well beat the eggs with a pinch of salt and pepper (in this step, you can add some chopped scallions if you want), then gently pour the egg mixture into the frying pan (you need to be really gentle with this because if you pour it too fast, the mushrooms will move to one side of the pan and you have to spread them again, now it’s double difficult when the eggs start setting and you don’t want to tear them apart)

IMG_2315

3. Reduce the heat to minimum to prevent the omelette to burn too quickly. After 4-5 minutes, when the surface becomes drier, sprinkle the ham on top, wait for 1-2 minutes more and flip the omelette to cook the other side for another 1-2 minutes. Turn off the heat and serve.

IMG_2316

Okay, so this is the end of my quick post, I hope you enjoy it and thank you all for reading this post,

Have a nice day food lovers,

Love, Trang Quynh

11 comments

  1. Saskia (1=2) · January 21, 2013

    Yum, nothing better than a quick omelette to start the day. I guess this one is a hamlet?

    • trangquynh · January 21, 2013

      lol, that’s hilarious, anw thank you for the comment 😉

  2. petit4chocolatier · January 22, 2013

    I have not made an omelet in such a long time. Thank you for the inspiration!!

  3. Karen · January 22, 2013

    Omelets are perfect when you don’t have a lot of time to spend cooking.

    • trangquynh · January 22, 2013

      yes, you’re totally right, especially when we’re busy but still want something warm and delicious ^^

  4. EatwithNamie · January 23, 2013

    ha ha, it’s very unusual to see men’s food blogs. I’ve checked your other blogs as well and you seem very talented. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving nice words. 🙂 BTW, how do I get the “continue reading” widget on my blog for free? I hate scrolling down the page….happy cooking!

    • trangquynh · January 23, 2013

      actually I’m a girl, but no big deal ^^ about the “continue reading” widget, it’s a button called “Read more” on the task bar when you edit a post 😉 Have a nice day Namie !

  5. EatwithNamie · January 24, 2013

    haha…thank you…and sorry…for the mix-up. I saw a man’s gravatar…:(

    • trangquynh · January 24, 2013

      oh really? I’ll check it out, sorry for making you that confused 😉

  6. Pingback: Omelette với nấm và jambon « Taste from Home

Leave a Reply

