Chicken Spaghetti in Tomato Sauce


Chicken spaghetti 1When you read this post, those questions can pop up in your mind: “Is that pasta again? Why does this girl cook pasta so much? Isn’t she tired of eating that?”, yes, I know, but I have to admit that I quite love cooking pasta and creating new sauces. No big deal, I didn’t invent something special or super delicious, I just came up with some crazy ideas, with the ingredients that I have every week in my fridge, switching up a little bit, and… ta daaaa! New sauce !

And basically, if you check my blog weekly or even daily (I hope you’re all in this case ^^), you will know that I didn’t have any pasta dish since last month ! (huraaaaa, it’s a good news, isn’t it? Forget the stuff about students always have quick pasta and precooked sauce  for everyday, I will prove them wrong 😉 ) Actually these days I’m a little bit really, really craving for soup and stew, my blog was kinda…flooding in a bunch of recipes for curry, beef stew… so I wanna balance it with some quick and simple recipes, just in case you’re looking for something like that. I hope all of you will enjoy this recipe, and if the next post is (again) about a soup or stew, don’t be mad at me, okay? xD

Chicken spaghetti 2

Ingredients (serves: 4)

350 grams chicken breasts, diced

1 red bell pepper, diced

2 medium tomatoes, chopped

1 small onion, diced

2 tbs ketchup

2 tsp dried mixed herbs

400 grams spaghetti

Salt, pepper

Vegetable oil

Grated cheese (to serve)

Method: 

1. Heat a large frying pan over medium high heat. Put in 1 tbs vegetable oil, following by half of the diced onion. Constantly stir until the onion is soft and translucent. Add the chicken, season with salt and pepper, keep stirring for about 6-8′ and turn off the heat. The chicken should be still a little pink and wasn’t cooked through. Set aside.

IMG_2377

IMG_2378

2. In that same pan, put in 1 tbs vegetable oil, following by the remaining diced onion. This time, add the bell pepper first and a pinch of salt, constantly stir until the pepper is soft.

IMG_2379

3. After that, add the chopped tomatoes, reduce the heat, continue stirring until the tomatoes are soft and easy to smash. Put in 2 tbs ketchup and 2 tsp dried mixed herbs, mix until combined.

IMG_2380

IMG_2381

4. Finally, put the chicken back in the pan, gently mix until the chicken is well covered by the tomato sauce. Cook the sauce for a couple minutes more so the chicken can be cooked through, then turn off the heat. Season if needed with salt and pepper.

IMG_2382

IMG_2383

6. Pour the sauce over cooked pasta, sprinkle with grated cheese (optional)

Chicken spaghetti 3

Happy weekend everyone,

Love, Trang Quynh

Vietnamese versionhttp://tastefromhome.wordpress.com/2013/02/03/pasta-sot-thit-ga-ca-chua/

8 comments

  1. Karen · February 2, 2013

    I’m glad that you did this pasta recipe not only because it sounds and looks good but it reminds me that I haven’t cooked chicken and pasta in ages.

    • trangquynh · February 2, 2013

      haha, so this time I did help you right? I’m looking forward to seeing your chicken pasta dish, I guess it will be better than mine 😉

      • Karen · February 2, 2013

        I don’t know about that.

  2. petit4chocolatier · February 3, 2013

    I prepare pasta a lot too! Love the variations 🙂
    This looks absolutely magnificent!

  3. Pingback: Pasta sốt thịt gà cà chua « Taste from Home
  4. Pingback: Lemon Chicken Breast | Trang Quynh
  5. Pingback: Top 10 Simple and Delicious Pasta Recipes to rock out this Spring | Trang Quynh

Leave a Reply

