Coconut Chicken Curry with Pineapple


Coconut chicken curry with pineapple 1After making this dish, I realized one thing: I’m truly terrible at eating spicy food 😦 For the beginning of the story, last week, we just bought a new pack of curry powder and at first, I was extremely happy because it looks exactly like the one I used to use at home (in Vietnam, of course). But then comes the problem, we made Japanese Beef Curry that day, and when I tasted it, geez, the curry tastes like a super hot red chili! I spent the whole meal drinking water non-stop and trying to reduce the hotness of the dish, while my friends were really enjoying their meal and told me that it’s not spicy at all. Yeah, wish I could be that good in eating spicy food.

This time, to be more careful, I reduced the amount of the curry powder, plus, I used coconut milk and pineapple to add more dimensions to the dish, a little sweetness and sourness, with a little hope that the result won’t come out too spicy. And then…still spicy as hell.  In that one second, I started wondering if the dish wasn’t less spicy, or there was something happen to my taste (maybe the second one). If it’s really the second one, nooooooooo !!! I need to eat spicy food, I have to eat spicy food, because there’re so many things which won’t be delicious anymore without the hotness and spiciness 😦

Anw, for everyone who’s able to eat spicy food, or even good at that, I admire you and I wish I could have that super power. And don’t worry about this dish, it’s definitely not spicy for you, and except the fact that’s spicy for me, this dish is creamy and flavorful, the chicken thighs are soft and super tender, it goes really great with steamed jasmine rice, but if you like, baguette is also a good choice, enjoy the recipe ^^

Coconut chicken curry with pineapple 2Ingredients (serves:4)

1. 8 chicken thighs

2. 1 onion, diced

3. 1 huge red bell pepper, diced

4. 1/2 of a small pineapple, cut into chunks or quarter then slice

5. 4 tbs plain flour

6. 400 ml coconut milk

7. 400 ml fresh water

8. 2 tbs curry powder

9. Salt, pepper

10. Vegetable oil

Method:

1. In a large plate, mix together the flour with a pinch of salt and 1/2 tsp black pepper. Coat the chicken thighs with the flour mixture and shake off excess. Heat a frying pan over medium high heat, put in 2 tbs vegetable oil and brown the chicken thighs on all sides. Set aside.

IMG_24442. Meanwhile, heat a pot over medium high heat, put in 1 tbs vegetable oil, following by the diced onion and bell pepper. Constantly stir for 5-6 minutes until the vegetables are soft.

IMG_24453. Mix in the curry powder and cook for 1 minute more.

IMG_24494. Add the coconut milk and fresh water, bring to a boil then reduce the heat to minimum. Season with salt.

IMG_24505. Add the pineapple chunks (or slices) in the pot, then put in the chicken thighs, gently pour the curry sauce all over them until they’re well covered. Simmer for 30-40 minutes until the chicken thighs are tender and the pineapple chunks are soft. Turn off the heat and serve with steamed rice or baguette.

IMG_2451

IMG_2452

My new curry powder made the color of the dish so beautiful, right? ^^

IMG_2453

The chicken thighs are simmering in curry, honestly, I checked the pot and tasted the curry every 5 minutes just because it looks so yummy 😛

Coconut chicken curry with pineapple 3Good luck with this dish and have fun realizing it in your kitchen,

Love, Trang Quynh

3 comments

  1. theglobalgarnishgeek · February 19, 2013

    I agree that curry mixes are hard to reproduce. I have a couple of brands I like (one Thai and the other Indian), but I make my own as well just to have one that I can always reproduce when I can’t find my favorites.

    • trangquynh · February 19, 2013

      wow, you made your own curry mixes? that sounds amazing, the one I’m using now has too much turmeric powder which makes the curry too yellow ^^

  2. Pingback: Curried Prawn Fried Rice | Trang Quynh

Leave a Reply

