Lemon Chicken Breast


Lemon chicken breast 1People always recommend you to eat chicken breasts instead of chicken thighs or legs, but sometimes you just stuck to find various recipes to go with these healthy parts of the chicken, have you ever faced that problem? For me it’s a yes. When it comes to chicken breasts, I always stir-fry them with vegetables (like bell peppers, broccoli…), make pasta, roll some chicken roulades, or if I have oven, roasting them with spices. Even though these dishes are delicious, but in my mind, I truly want to find something different which is at the same time simple, healthy and flavorful. Because you know, chicken breasts easily become a disaster due to the over-cooked problem.

So today, I will make my first step in the “finding simple recipes with chicken breasts” adventure with this beautiful dish, Lemon Chicken Breast. It may sound familiar to you, but this time, I put a little twist by adding chopped coriander to the dish, bringing a slight Asian touch to it. Lucky me, coriander match really great with the light sourness of the lemon sauce and the chicken tastes yummy!!! And, for the question that is always asked in a post using lemon, about the substitution of lime, personally, I don’t think lime is a good idea for this dish. In fact, lime and lemon are both sour but they taste absolutely different, so for a dish which uses lemon juice and zest, lemon is definitely the best choice. Fortunately now lemons are popular in Asian countries, so take a little time to buy some of them, don’t be worried, they worth your effort and can be used in a wide range of dishes ^^ Don’t let your laziness overwhelm you, especially in cooking 😉

Lemon chicken breast 2

Ingredients (serves: 4)

For the chicken:

4 large chicken breasts, cubed

1 1/2 tbs soy sauce

1 egg

3 tsp cornstarch

For the lemon sauce: 

1 1/2 lemon juice and zest

2-3 tbs white sugar

120 ml fresh water

2 tsp cornstarch

1 tbs chopped fresh coriander

Salt, pepper

Vegetable oil

Method: 

1. Put the chicken in a bowl and toss with soy sauce, leave to marinate for at least 15 mins.

IMG_2468

2. To make the sauce, in a small saucepan, whisk together the lemon zest and juice with fresh water, sugar and cornstarch. Bring to a boil, constantly stir until thickened, season with salt and pepper then keep warm.

IMG_2469

IMG_2470

3. Meanwhile, heat a frying pan over medium high heat, put in 2 tbs vegetable oil. Whisk together the egg and cornstarch in a small bowl to make a batter. Toss the chicken in the batter and fry 5-6 ms on each side until golden and cooked through.

IMG_2472

4. Transfer to a plate, sprinkle with chopped fresh coriander and spoon the warm lemon sauce over the chicken. Serve.

Lemon chicken breast 3

More recipes for chicken breasts on Trang Quynh Food Blog:

1. Chicken Spaghetti in Tomato Sauce

2. Mushroom and Bell Pepper Stuffed Chicken Breasts

3. Nutty Orange Chicken Salad

4. Stir-fried Chicken with Bell Peppers  

5. Creamy Chicken Mushroom Pasta

6. Chicken Roulades in Basic Tomato Sauce

I hope you guys enjoy the post and if you have more delicious recipes for chicken breasts, share them with me and other bloggers in the comment section below, I can’t wait to see and try out some brand new recipes xoxo

Love, Trang Quynh

Vietnamese versionhttp://tastefromhome.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/luon-ga-sot-chanh/

9 comments

  1. Eva Taylor · February 18, 2013

    I made a lemon chicken this past Friday and it was rather tasty. I don’t like to use too much sugar and I like that your recipe only has a couple of tablespoons (the one I made had a half a cup, but I reduced it to one quarter and even that was too much). I only ever cook Chicken Breasts because of the health thing. Plus I prefer it.

    • trangquynh · February 18, 2013

      I love eating sour food so I decided to not add too much sugar, it reduces the natural flavor of lemon ^^ I will check your blog for more recipes with chicken breasts, I really suck at cooking them ^^

  2. Pingback: Lườn gà sốt chanh « Taste from Home
  3. Saskia (1=2) · February 18, 2013

    Looooove lemon chicken – it’s one of my favourite take-out meals too. This looks gorgeous.

    • trangquynh · February 18, 2013

      thank you, it became my favorite too ^^

  4. sybaritica · February 18, 2013

    Very nice! I’d like the sauce with bone-in chicken wing drumettes too 🙂

    • trangquynh · February 18, 2013

      wow, that sounds delicious, yum !!!

  5. dedy oktavianus pardede · February 19, 2013

    please don’t deskinned the chicken, i’m begging you,
    lemon and chicken skin is yummy wholesome,….

    • trangquynh · February 19, 2013

      my chicken breasts are sold skinless, if I have choices, of course I will cook lemon with chicken and its skin ^^

Leave a Reply

