Beef and Broccoli Stir-fry with Soy Sauce


Beef and broccoli stir-fry 1In busy weekdays, me and my housemates, we always love one-pot dishes, or in this case, you can also say one-pan dishes 😉 One of the reason is that we have to bring our lunchboxes to our university, because the schedule is so tight and we don’t even have time to go to the canteen, stand in a super long queue and wait for our lunch 😦 Sometimes I think I will miss a part of university life, you know, like having lunch in a big lounge with all the noises around (in a positive way, of course ^^), discussing about stuff while eating, etc. But yeah, luckily I just have to bring my lunchbox once a week, and more luckily  unfortunately, my friends live 2-3 minutes away from the campus, so in that day I always have lunch all alone, how awful !

Anw, back to the one-pan dishes, stir-fried ones are always the best choice. They’re simple to make, easy to change ingredients (until now I think the number in my list can reach 20 or more and it rises month after month haha) but still flavorful and nutritious (meat and veggies in one dish, hurrayyy). Honestly, I’m not the person that can bring a bunch of boxes with me (I didn’t even count my old heavy laptop and notebooks ^^) and wander around the campus or the library without turning myself in a big mess and in the worse case, losing all the boxes. So, one day, one box, one spoon and holding notebooks in my arms, I feel just like a typical student 😀

Beef and broccoli stir-fry 2And about the dish, I’m not a big fan of carrots, I just eat them when they’re super soft in curry or stew, or stir-fried like this, that’s why I just used one carrot for this recipe and thinly sliced them (if they’re bigger, I know that I won’t eat them so… ). So feel free to use more carrots if you like and slice them into bigger pieces, plus, other veggies will come really great with this type of dish: bean sprouts, bok choy, bell peppers, baby corn…

Ingredients (serves: 3-4)

300 grams beef, thinly sliced

1 medium broccoli, cut into pieces, washed

1 medium carrot, peeled and thinly sliced

1 small onion, finely chopped

5 slices fresh ginger, finely chopped

3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

3 tbs soy sauce

1 bunch fresh coriander, leaves picked and roughly chopped

Salt, pepper

Vegetable oil

Fresh water

Method: 

1. Season the beef with a pinch of salt and pepper. Boil water with a pinch of salt in a pot. When the water is bubbling, add the broccoli spears and constantly stir for 4-5 minutes, then put them in a colander to drain all the water. Set aside.

IMG_2479

2. Meanwhile, heat a frying pan over high heat, put in 2 tbs vegetable oil, following by the half of the chopped onion, ginger and garlic. Fry for a couple minutes until the onion is translucent and the garlic and ginger turn lightly brown. Drop in the seasoned pieces of beef and quickly stir-fry for 4-5 minutes, season with 1 tbs soy sauce, then transfer them to a plate when they’re juicy and still pink a little bit inside. Keep warm.

IMG_2481

IMG_2482

3. Put the pot back on heat, add 1 tbs of vegetable oil, following by the remaining onion, stir for 1-2 mins until translucent. Add the carrot and continue stirring until soft.

IMG_2485

4. Next, add the broccoli spears to the pot, season with salt, pepper and 2 tbs soy sauce. Constantly stir until the veggies are nicely cooked (the time depends on how soft you want your veggies to be, if you want them to be still a little crunchy, 2-3 minutes are enough ^^), pour the beef juice into the veggies to make them more flavorful and fragnant.

IMG_2486

5. Finally, put the beef back in the pot, gently combine all the ingredients and cook for further 1-2 minutes. Turn off the heat, stir in chopped coriander leaves and serve hot with steamed jasmine rice.

IMG_2488

Beef and broccoli stir-fry 3Bon appetit everyone and see you in the next post,

Love, Trang Quynh

Vietnamese versionhttp://tastefromhome.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/thit-bo-xao-sup-lo-xanh-va-ca-rot/

11 comments

  1. Pingback: Thịt bò xào súp lơ xanh và cà rốt « Taste from Home
  2. Saskia (1=2) · February 21, 2013

    This looks great Trang. Love a good stir-fry. Good on you for bringing your own lunch to Uni – wish I had done that more often at the time (would’ve saved a fortune)!

    • trangquynh · February 21, 2013

      haha, trust me, you can’t save a fortune by bringing lunch to uni, instead of spending money on lunches, I always buy lots of snack and drinks between lectures ^^

  3. relaxingcooking · February 21, 2013

    This looks delicious, great recipe!

    • trangquynh · February 21, 2013

      thank you so much for the nice compliment, have a nice day, I really love your posts 😉

  4. sybaritica · February 21, 2013

    That looks good! I am not wild keen on carrots in this sort of dish either but I find that if they are cut the same way you have done, they are improved by tossing with salt for 20 minutes or so until they are wilted and then rinsing off the salt before cooking. Beef and broccoli is one of my wife’s favorites and I usually do it the way it gets served in many restaurants… if you’d like to take a look here: http://sybaritica.me/2012/09/28/beef-and-broccoli-with-oyster-sauce/

    • trangquynh · February 21, 2013

      thank you for a great tip, I checked your Beef and Broccoli Stir-fry before and I was in love with it, beef and broccoli are always a great combination for stir-fried dishes 🙂

  5. Stephanie · February 21, 2013

    This looks delicious! I love one pot meals made with fresh ingredients… so tasty and clean up is quick!

    • trangquynh · February 21, 2013

      thank you, and I totally agree with the clean up thing, you will never go wrong with one pot meals, no mess in the kitchen, no dozen of things to wash after enjoying the meal, that’s just heaven ! ^^

  6. Profiteroles & Ponytails · February 22, 2013

    I would love to bring a healthy stir fry like this for lunch. I can imagine that the cilantro adds a fresh hit of flavour to this tasty looking dish!

    • trangquynh · February 23, 2013

      thank you for the kind comment, I always love adding cilantro to my dishes to boost the flavors ^^

Leave a Reply

