Bo Luc Lac (Vietnamese Shaking Beef)


 

Bo luc lac 1First thing first, I really think that I need some class of photography or something like that, ’cause my photography skills suck. Yes, I admit it. Actually this afternoon I took a look at my blog and other food blogs that I’m following (well, I mean your blogs ^^), and I realized that ugly truth. While everyone has such stunning, colorful and amazing food pictures, with different and creative concepts, backgrounds, mine are still the same in almost every post: same angle, same table, same concept,… stuff like that, and what I’m not satisfied the most is they’re not bright enough 😦 You know, maybe my only wish for this year is having a new camera, a more professional one I guess, so I will stop using my small digital camera (yes, it’s useful in case you’re travelling but not in this case), I truly had a hard time taking pictures at night with it, I have to increase the brightness but it didn’t work at all geez, you can realize that in my pictures in this post. And honestly, that’s part of the reason why I always make new dishes for lunch, when the pictures can come out better with natural light and be more colorful 😉

Bo luc lac 3Whoops, sorry for being a talker again, I easily become like that when it comes to food, cooking, fashion or films ^^ So back to the dish, yes, you heard that, Vietnamese SHAKING Beef, sounds so funny, right? At first I thought it was translated to “Sizzling Beef”, but when I googled that word, it was a little awkward ’cause the results come out…nothing like the thing I did xD So I searched again and almost laughed out loud reading the dish’s name in English teeheeee

Bo Luc Lac (Vietnamese Shaking Beef) is a super easy dish which is very popular in my country, we love enjoying it with rice and fresh sliced tomatoes, cucumber, and sometimes crunchy French fries. There’s a variety ways to make it (I hope I can show you more  in my next posts),  but in this post, I will present to you just a simple way that suit an European or Western life, I mean when you can hardly find Asian market and typical ingredients. No worries, okay, you can still realize this dish at home in your kitchen !!!
Bo luc lac 2Now let’s move on to the actions, I promise it will take you only 30-45 mins to finish this dish 😉

Ingredients (serves: 2-3)

350 grams tender beef, cut into 2x2cm cubes

1/2 of a yellow bell pepper, diced

1/2 of a red bell pepper, diced

1/2 of green bell pepper, diced

1 small onion, diced

2-3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

2 full tbs soy sauce

2 full tbs white wine

1 tbs unsalted butter

Salt, pepper

Vegetable oil

Method:

1. In a mixing bowl, marinate the beef cubes with 1 tbs soy sauce, 1 tbs white wine, a pinch of salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper and 1/3 of the diced onion. Set aside for at least 15 mins.

IMG_2498

2. Heat a large frying pan over high heat, melt the butter, then add garlic and half of the remaining onion. Sautee the onion and garlic until aromatic and translucent, then drop in the marinated beef cubes and quickly stir in about 1 minute.

IMG_2500

3. Then add the diced bell peppers and the remaining onion, season with 1 tbs soy sauce, 1 tbs white wine, salt and pepper (if needed), continue stirring for a couple of minutes until the beef is cooked and the bell peppers are soft. Turn off the heat and serve with rice and fresh salad. IMG_2501

Bo luc lac 4Good luck and bon appetit,

Love, Trang Quynh

Vietnamese versionhttp://tastefromhome.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/bo-luc-lac/

13 comments

  1. Karen · February 24, 2013

    The shaking beef looks delicious. As to your photos, I think you are too critical. Perhaps you could try using a white cloth or mat under the plate or stand a piece of white cardboard behind the plate to help reflect some light for your night photos.

    • trangquynh · February 24, 2013

      thank you Karen for the nice comment and the tip for my photography skills ^^ I always find my kitchen too dark and has not enough light, besides, even though I used the Macro in my camera, the pictures don’t come out as I want, have you any idea for that problem? Thank you and have a nice day 😉

      • Karen · February 24, 2013

        My food shots are always taken at night. I have a chandelier over my island which gives me lots of light. Since you have limited light, perhaps you could use an adjustable desk lamp with a natural light bulb to give you additional light.

      • trangquynh · February 24, 2013

        thank you so much Karen for the lightning tip, next time I will try it and see how it works on my pictures, have a nice day then 😉

  2. sybaritica · February 24, 2013

    It’s true … the photography is the hard part of food blogging. Sometimes I put off cooking a particular recipe because I can’t face the plating and picture-taking 😦

    I think your photographs of the food being cooked look very good… perhaps you have better light in that area? I also agree that a better camera is a good investment… I have been thinking it is high-time I got one to use at home as well!

    • trangquynh · February 24, 2013

      yes, I totally agree, I saw many food blogs with high quality pictures and the authors, they always use a professional camera, it really helps the food looked lovely, colorful and focused, that’s something that little digital cameras can’t do 😦 I’m thinking of reading some documents on food photography and then investing in a new camera this year to improve the pictures’ quality ^^

  3. Saskia (1=2) · February 24, 2013

    Hey Trang. Lovely looking recipe, especially that last photo. Yum! Not that I’m an expert, but I love my little light tent, for when there is insufficient light. You can buy them on Ebay quite cheaply, and they quite often come with a light with daylight globe. As Karen said, a piece of white cardboard is great for reflecting light back onto your food. I wouldn’t worry too much though, it’s the whole parcel that brings people to your blog – your words, your recipes etc. not just the photos!

    • trangquynh · February 24, 2013

      Hi Saskia, I know that the quality of a food blog doesn’t only depend on the pictures, but I really think I need to improve them so that people can be inspired to cook and enjoy the dishes 🙂 anw, I will try looking for the light tent that you mentioned on Ebay before deciding to buying a new professional camera, thanks for your advice, it really helps and means a lot to me ^^

  4. dedy oktavianus pardede · February 24, 2013

    so colorfull dish….
    btw i salute you by cooking the whole thing in the wide open wokpan since i really got some issue with that…\btw. you should try another angle and background with your photograph…..

    • trangquynh · February 24, 2013

      well, my apartment doesn’t have that much space to change background actually ^^ and the reason why I always choose that angle is that when I tried others, there’s always a part of the picture which is covered by darkness and it looks annoying, that’s why I’m trying to improve my pictures’ quality by investing in lighting stuff or a new camera 😉
      anw thank you for the nice comment and have a nice day !!!

  5. Anne ~ Uni Homemaker · February 25, 2013

    Give me some rice and this is a meal! Delicious.

    • trangquynh · February 25, 2013

      thank you Anne for the nice compliment, yes, this dish goes really great with steamed jasmine rice ^^

  6. Pingback: Bò lúc lắc | Taste from Home

Leave a Reply

