Warm and healthy breakfast: French Toast ^^


 

French toast 1It’s been such a long time since the last time I stayed long enough in the kitchen to make a warm and quite healthy breakfast like this. Back in the summer, when I was still at home in Vietnam, I always loved making breakfast. Sometimes, I baked some muffins which are the easiest baked goods to do (dry ingredients in one bowl, wet ones in other, mix and stir, mix and stir… voila, warm, fluffy and delicious muffins in less than 1 hour ^^). Sometimes, I heated up the oven with some bacon puffs, used my leftover bacon and cheese in the fridge and waked up everyone by the lovely aroma from the kitchen. And it would be a mistake if I don’t mention my favorite breakfast of all time, Cinnamon Toast, which reminds me of my busy high school life (yeah, I was kinda craving for these cinnamon toasts in that period and made them almost everyday, they used to be my snack before extra classes 🙂 ) and also my tiny kitchen at home with full of cool stuff (my baking tools and basics, cute plates,…)

Since I moved to France, I got used to a busier life, student life, with lectures beginning at 8, waking up at 6.30 or sooner to get ready and take the subway, heating something to put in the lunchbox… I learned new things, enjoyed my life here, but for a while, I just forgot how I loved spending time in the kitchen every morning and cooking something warm. I couldn’t even remember since when I started having the same breakfast everyday: toasts + jam + nutella + milk, maybe 6 or 7 months, that was kinda crazy ! So today, benefiting my 1 week off, I just simply want to make a change, not something special but these buttery and soft French Toasts are truly a great treat for breakfast. You can enjoy them with butter, maple syrup (or any kind of syrup you like) or some fresh fruits to bring you more energy for a long day 😉
French toast 2

Ingredients (for 6 slices of bread)

6 slices of bread

1 large egg

100 ml fresh milk

1/2 tsp white sugar

1/4 tsp salt

20 grams unsalted butter

Method:

1. In a large mixing bowl or a deep plate, mix together the egg, milk, sugar and salt.

2. Heat a frying pan over medium high heat, melt the butter. Gently dip each slice of bread in the egg mixture in 20 secs and flip it until both sides are soaked in the mixture.

3. Put the slices of bread on the frying pan or a large skillet, brown both sides. Serve hot with butter, syrup or fresh fruits.
French toast 3Have fun making these warm and delicious French Toasts and don’t ever forget to have breakfast even you’re busy ^^

Love, Trang Quynh

Vietnamese versionhttp://tastefromhome.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/french-toast/

10 comments

  1. Saskia (1=2) · February 28, 2013

    Yum. It’s 6.50am here, and I’m now extremely hungry Trang. Hope someone make me French toast… Agree, life gets a bit crazy for a proper cooked breakfast most morning here too. On the weekends though, it’s pancakes for us. Your bacon puffs look good too – love that you use celery on them!

    • trangquynh · February 28, 2013

      thank you Saskia, I will make you French Toasts if I have chance, have a nice day then 😉

  2. Stephanie · February 28, 2013

    I love french toast! This looks delicious!

    • trangquynh · March 1, 2013

      thank you Stephanie, I’m always a fan of warm and buttery breakfast like this ^^

  3. MJyummymunch · March 1, 2013

    Oh yum! I just love french toast. This reminds me, I need to have french toast again soon! 🙂

    • trangquynh · March 1, 2013

      me too, I’m a huge fan of french toast and anything buttery and warm ^^ can’t wait to see pictures of your french toast !!!

  4. Karen · March 2, 2013

    I love French toast and if I have it…it must have powdered sugar.

    • trangquynh · March 2, 2013

      yes, I love powdered sugar on my French toast too, but I didn’t wanna overwhelm my breakfast with too much sugar so I just enjoyed my French toast with fresh fruits ^^

  5. Teresa · March 2, 2013

    I’ve recently switched my food blog over to be self-hosted which I hope will make it more user-friendly in the future. As a result, if you were following Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen via email, WordPress, or using RSS feeds through Google Reader or some other way, you are no longer subscribed. If you wish to continue receiving future posts from my blog you will need to re-subscribe. Sorry for the inconvenience, Teresa.

  6. Pingback: French Toast | Taste from Home

Leave a Reply

