Curried Prawn Fried Rice


Curried fried rice 1If there’s one thing that I recommend you to store in your kitchen, that would definitely be curry powder. Trust me, I’ve been through the craziest situation in the kitchen (no oven, if you know what I mean ^^, and yes, good news, I HAVE MY OVEN BACK yayyy), and curry powder was an effective helper for me. Apart from a variety of curry, it gives you many more choices. Curry powder can be used as a spice for marinade (chicken or fish match really great with this kind of dishes), or like this time, as a stunning touch for your usual fried rice. I gotta say that it was a hit, I’ve never tried adding curry powder to my fried rice, but I think since now, I’ll start being curry-addicted !!! It didn’t only give the rice a beautiful, intriguing yellow color but also a nice aroma and a flavorful taste. I’m pretty sure that this Curried Prawn Fried Rice will be a not-bad choice for your lunch or late dinner, especially for some cozy winter days 🙂 

And as I always said, for fried rice, feel free to change the ingredients that suit your taste, for mine, I just used the basic ingredients, like carrots, frozen peas, onions, pineapple… to make the dish colorful and photogenic 😉 For substitution, ham, scrambled eggs, scallion, baby corns,… will match really great too ! Curried fried rice 2Ingredients (serves: 6)

White rice, cooked (about 2 1/2 cup uncooked rice). You can both use leftover rice or cook rice a little bit drier than usual and refrigerate it.

400 grams prawns, peeled and diced

1 onion, chopped

2 medium carrots, peeled and diced (I love dicing my carrots in tiny pieces, you can see them in the pictures below)

2 handfuls frozen peas

1/4 of a fresh pineapple, diced

1 full tbs curry powder

Soy sauce, salt, pepper

Vegetable oil

Method: 

1. Heat a pot or a large frying pan over medium high heat, put in 2 tbs vegetable oil, following by the onion and carrot. Stir well until the veggies are soft. 
IMG_25142. Add the frozen peas, season with a pinch of salt and 1/4 tsp black pepper, continue stirring for 2-3 minutes.

IMG_25153. Drop in the prawns, stir until they’re cook through (or if you use precooked prawns like me, just stir for nearly 1 min to dry the prawns), season with 1/2 tbs of soy sauce.

IMG_25164. Gently fold in the rice, along with the curry powder and 2 tbs soy sauce. Using a spoon or chopsticks, separate the rice so it won’t stick together, then mix until all ingredients are combined. Keep stirring for 8-10 minutes until the rice turns soft, dry on the outside and well coated by the curry powder. Taste and season more with soy sauce if needed.

IMG_25175. Finally add the pineapple, mix together the fried rice until combined and turn off the heat. Serve hot.

IMG_2518

Curried fried rice 3Good luck with this dish and bon appetit,

Love, Trang Quynh

For more recipes using curry powder:

1. Pork Curry with Pineapple and Snow Peas (recipe courtesy of Masterchef Australia’s website)

2. Madras Chicken Curry with Sweet Potato and Rice (recipe courtesy of Masterchef Australia’s website)

3. Chicken Coconut Curry with French Baguette 

4. Japanese Beef Curry

5. Easy Chicken Milk Curry

6. Coconut Chicken Curry with Pineapple 

4 comments

  1. Eva Taylor · March 2, 2013

    What an interesting addition of the pineapple. I love curry and always have a variety of spices on hand to jazz up any meal.

    • trangquynh · March 2, 2013

      thank you Eva, I love storing spices too, they’re always super helpful in the kitchen 😉

  2. Saskia (1=2) · March 2, 2013

    Yum looking fried rice, especially the prawns. I love curry powder. When I went backpacking with my sister many years ago, we went armed with a tin of curry powder. Our easy backpacker’s dinner was fried onion, curry powder and a tin of tomatoes; stewed on toast!

    • trangquynh · March 2, 2013

      haha, you made me laugh with your backpacking story, curry powder was a hero, wasn’t it? ^^ anw fried onion an a tin of tomatoes sound like a not bad idea for dinner 😉

Leave a Reply

