Sweet and Sour Pork


Sweet and sour pork 1

Finally spring is around here everyone, I’m so glad to announce that ^^ Actually winter in Lyon is not that horrible, it was okay even though we had to suffer some crazy windy and cold days, and some snowy, but I just don’t like winter. I don’t like to put on layers of clothes and walk around like a real snowman (no, snowgirl to be exact 😉 ), with my hands in the gloves and my head in a huge wool beanie, sometimes I can’t even see anything around because of it haha My favorite season of the year is autumn, and surely, spring comes next. What’s better than wandering around my beautiful city in a sunny day, with the blue sky, oh, and how I miss the sun-feeling on my skin, it’s been such a long time. So for everyone who loves spring like me, congratulations, we’re now in the best moment to celebrate it !!!

Spring just makes me too excited, and one more thing: we can finally forget the soups and stews for a while, their glory time should come to an end and let some colorful, spring-inspiring dishes replace. And when it comes to something like that, my first idea is always a sweet and sour dish. It’s flavorful, colorful and matches with almost every kind of meat. You can make Sweet and Sour Pork like me, or sweet and sour chicken, prawns, and of course, fish, there’re many choices depending on your liking. Today, for the beginning of a the spring dishes’ series, I will begin with just a simple recipe, Sweet and Sour Pork, I hope you will like it as I did and find for yourself some ideas for this gorgeous season of the year 🙂

Sweet and sour pork 2Ingredients (serves: 5-6)

600 grams pork, cubed

1 green bell pepper, diced

1 red bell pepper, diced

2 medium onions, thinly sliced

2-3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

3 tbs soy sauce

1/2 tsp pepper

Frying batter

2 tbs all purpose flour

2 tbs fresh water

1 large egg

Sweet and sour sauce

5 tbs ketchup

2 tbs soy sauce

6 tbs fresh water

1 tbs vinegar

2 tsp white sugar

1/2 tsp black pepper

Method: 

1. In a large mixing bowl, marinate the pork with soy sauce and 1/2 tsp black pepper, set aside for 15-20 minutes.

IMG_2552

2. In another bowl, mix together the ingredients of sweet and sour sauce, set aside.
IMG_2553

3. Whisk the ingredients of the frying batter to form a thick batter. Pour it into the marinated pork, stir well until coated. Heat a large frying pan over medium high heat, put in 2 tbs vegetable oil and pan-fry the pork until browned all sides. Transfer to a plate and drain on paper towels.

IMG_2554

4. Heat a pot or a deep pan over medium high heat, add 1 tbs vegetable oil and sautee the onions and garlic until fragnant and aromatic, in about 3-4 minutes.

IMG_2555

5. Add the diced bell peppers, continue stirring in about 2-3 minutes until soft, the pour in the sweet and sour sauce. Season with salt and pepper if needed.

IMG_2559

6. As soon as the sauce thickens, transfer the pork into the pot and stir well with the sauce, cook for 2-3 minutes more and turn off the heat. Serve hot with steamed white rice. IMG_2561

Sweet and sour pork 3Good luck with this dish and enjoy the spring as much as you can,

Love, Trang Quynh

Vietnamese versionhttp://tastefromhome.wordpress.com/2013/03/13/thit-lon-sot-chua-ngot/

10 comments

  1. sybaritica · March 10, 2013

    Always one of my favorites 🙂

    • trangquynh · March 10, 2013

      it became my favorite too, so simple and delicious ^^

  2. petit4chocolatier · March 10, 2013

    I love your step by step pictures! Looks sensational 🙂

    • trangquynh · March 10, 2013

      thank you Judy, I just wanna to illustrate what I did so that everyone can easy remake this dish at home ^^

  3. Saskia (1=2) · March 11, 2013

    Oh yum, LOVE sweet and sour pork. Lucky you, heading into Spring, my favourite Season. I can’t complain though – we’re supposed to be slipping into Autumn here but it is still stinking hot. Not quite ready for soups and stews just yet!

    • trangquynh · March 11, 2013

      thank you Saskia, the weather in Lyon is just wonderful by now, I hope you will have your autumn soon, then I can be jealous with you (just a little bit), have a nice day anw ^^

  4. dedy oktavianus pardede · March 12, 2013

    if you add some pinneaple, i’ll eat it myself…hehehe’
    luckyly you didn’t

    • trangquynh · March 12, 2013

      haha, lucky me, at first I planned to add some pineapple chunks but I used it for other dish ^^ If this dish has pineapple, it will definitely be a killer !

  5. Pingback: Thịt lợn sốt chua ngọt | Taste from Home
  6. Pingback: Sweet and Sour Fish | Trang Quynh

Leave a Reply

