Bow-Ties with Peas and Ham


IMG_6022

Hello food lovers,

Okay, so I just have a small question for you: have you ever bought something to eat just because it is too adorable to resist? For me, it will be a yes, these bow-ties for example. They taste like most of the usual pasta but I find them cute, so I bought a huge (yes, I mean it, HUGE) bag and still don’t know when I can finish it, well, maybe my cooking channel will be flooded in bow-ties’ recipes, but it’s not a good idea, is it? ^^

Anw, I have the strong feeling that it’s gonna be a burning hot summer here in Lyon, this time last year it was quite chill and humid, but now all I want to do is staying at home, sticking with my cup of cold milk or some ice cream, mmm, I seem to say that all the time, how lazy I am, but honestly, summer is just not my thing, throw me in autumn and I will be great 😉
IMG_6023So, this Bow-Ties with Peas and Ham may be categorized in the “heat-free” dishes, not because we don’t have to use the stove but because it’s extremely fast to do, you won’t even feel the heat of the stove and it’s already finished. You can throw it on any weeknight for a light and quick dinner, or try it on weekend and let your children participate in the cooking process, maybe sprinkle parmesan cheese or put in the ham or frozen peas, and they will definitely love the bow-ties pasta because look at them, they’re hard to deny 😀

IMG_6025

INGREDIENT LIST (serves: 2-3)
250 grams bow-tie pasta (farfalle)
200 grams cooked ham, cut in strips or little cubes
4 handfuls frozen peas
1 medium onion
1 tbs unsalted butter
200 ml light cream (or half-and-half)
Salt, pepper
Grated Parmesan cheese, for serving

METHOD:

1. Cook the pasta til al dente following the package instructions,drain and keep warm.

2. Heat a large pan over medium high heat, melt the butter. Add chopped onion, constantly stir until translucent and aromatic. Add frozen peas and continue stirring for 1-2 minutes.

3. Pour in the cream, season with salt and pepper, give the sauce some nice stirs to combine everything, cook for further 2-3 minutes. Simmer the sauce until thickened, about 3-4 minutes.

4. Turn off the heat, put in the ham cubes and stir well until heated through. Toss in pasta and serve, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

IMG_6028I hope you will enjoy this simple dish, have fun making it and bon appetit,

Trang Quynh xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

